Riding on Water Blog Hop: Everyday Win

I may or may not actually be nervous about hosting a blog hop (seriously?), but either way, I thought we’d give it a try. So without further ado, I present the first ever

Don't judge. I had 10 minutes and a blunt pencil.

Don’t judge. I had 10 minutes and a blunt pencil.

Nicole recently hosted a fun (and hilarious) hop showcasing our everyday failures. But while Beka and L. have asked about our most stellar moments, I thought we’d share some of our everyday wins.

So let’s pull out some schooling (or unaffiliated schooling show) photos we’re proud of. Moments where our horses are taking steps to greatness; where they may be a long way from the blue ribbon, but advancing on the right path.

Here was one of the first moments that Arwen and I actually connected properly. I just like the impression of softness and throughness she gives here.

Here was one of the first moments that Arwen and I actually connected properly (March 2013). I just like the impression of softness and throughness she gives here.

Frankly, I like this photo because Arwen is, you know, jumping over the middle of the fence. And I love her expression.

Frankly, I like this photo because Arwen is, you know, jumping over the middle of the fence. And I love her expression.

I just love this photo. His balance, the way he's holding himself, even the way I'm sitting - nothing is amazing, but everything is just nice.

Reed’s first show. I just love this photo. His balance, the way he’s holding himself, even the way I’m sitting – nothing is amazing, but everything is just fine.

I'm proud of this because this was as we were coming out of a really tough patch. That little fence looked HUGE, but we jumped it again and again until it wasn't scary anymore.

This was as we were coming out of a really tough patch. That little fence looked HUGE, but we jumped it again and again until it wasn’t scary anymore.

Arwen at a lesson. I love how she's moving forward in a beautiful frame with her brain on the job despite being on an xc course. If only we could recreate this trot in a dressage arena...

Arwen at a lesson. I love how she’s moving forward in a beautiful frame with her brain on the job despite being on an xc course. If only we could recreate this trot in a dressage arena…

Magic's second training show. I'm proud of us both here because the day before I faceplanted on a jump (see ruined face) and I was dead nervous, but I rode him anyway and he took amazing care of me.

Magic’s second training show. I’m proud of us both here because the day before I faceplanted on a jump and I was dead nervous, but I rode him anyway and he took amazing care of me.

Vastrap3

This is Vastrap’s first training show with me, and here I am proud of his ears. His expression remains the most stubborn relic of his bad past; when ridden he habitually has his top lip poking out, head raised, ears pulled back, eyes wide. But here despite the new environment he found his happy place.

AropNia-Nell2

Nell at her first training show. I’m proud of this moment because seconds before this, she was panicking. It’s just amazing how quickly her brain came back and she could calm down to the point of offering a good free walk.

Praise God for amazing horses, and glory to the King.

get the InLinkz code

About firnhyde

A disciple whom Jesus loved. Called to horsemanship, among other things, and an adoring spectator at God's own stableyard. Volunteer medic, Jersey breeder, occasional writer. Behold the handmaid of the Lord; be it unto me according to thy word. Luke 1:38
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Riding on Water Blog Hop: Everyday Win

  1. Holybull79 says:

    This is an excellent idea for a blog hop! And no judging on your awesome drawing.

  2. Lyn says:

    I love all those photos. LOL how could you not love Arwen? And that one of Vastrap is stunning– he looks like a mighty charger fit for a knight. 🙂

  3. What a great idea to do a blog hop! And I don’t judge your drawing. I actually thought, “Wow! That’s really good.” 🙂

  4. emma says:

    yup – totally doing this one too!!! we gotta celebrate the good along with the bad, right?

  5. florahorse26 says:

    I am incredibly bad at drawing and that picture is sooo good! 🙂

  6. florahorse26 says:

    Also, Vastrap is STUNNING!!

  7. Pingback: ROW Blog Hop: Everyday Win | theperfeq

Leave a Reply

